National Federation of Republican Women
August 10, 2011
CONTACT: Lisa Ziriax
405-596-3873 or

National Federation of Republican Women
Announces Recipients of Betty Rendel Scholarship

ALEXANDRIA, Va. – The National Federation of Republican Women (NFRW) has announced the recipients of the 2011 Betty Rendel Scholarship:

Abigail Robinson of Athens, Tenn., is studying political science and public relations at Belmont University.

Emily Moore of Old Monroe, Mo., is a student at Westminster College. She is studying political science and economics.

Marie Hall Bishop of Roanoke, Va., is a political science student at Hollins University.

All three are scheduled to graduate next May.

The NFRW established the Betty Rendel Scholarship Fund in 1995 to honor the extraordinary leadership of Betty Rendel, who served as the organization's president in the 1980s. Annually, three scholarships of $1,000 are awarded to female undergraduates who are majoring in political science, government or economics and have successfully completed at least two years of college coursework. Recipients are chosen from applicants from across the nation. For more information about the NFRW's scholarship and internship programs, visit

Founded in 1938, the NFRW has thousands of active members in local clubs across the nation and in several U.S. territories, making it one of the largest women’s political organizations in the country. The grassroots organization works to promote the principles and objectives of the Republican Party, elect Republican candidates, inform the public through political education and activity, and increase the effectiveness of women in the cause of good government.

- 30 -

National Federation of Republican Women

National Federation of Republican Women
President: Sue Lynch  |  124 N. Alfred Street  |  Alexandria, VA  22314
703.548.9688  |  703.548.9836 (fax)  |  |

Copyright © 2011 National Federation of Republican Women.  All rights reserved.    Contact Us    Search    Site Map