Skip to main content

Federation News

National Federation of Republican Women Elects Kentucky GOP Leader to Serve on Executive Committee

National Federation of Republican Women Elects Kentucky GOP Leader to Serve on Executive Committee
Posted: May 15, 2021
Categories: News, News Releases
Comments: 0


ALEXANDRIA, Va. – The National Federation of Republican Women (NFRW) Board of Directors elected Kentucky Republican leader Barbara Ellerbrook to serve as member-at-large to the NFRW Executive Committee for the remainder of the 2020-2021 biennium. The election took place May 14 during the NFRW Spring Board Meeting.

Ellerbrook, a resident of Lexington, was elected to fill the position, which had been vacant since the beginning of the year. She took office immediately.

At the time of the election, Ellerbrook was serving as NFRW membership chair. She has been active in the organization for many years, and previously served as president of the Kentucky Federation of Republican Women and in several other leadership roles.

“We are thrilled to welcome Barbara to our national leadership team,” NFRW President Ann Schockett said. “She brings with her a wealth of experience, talent, vision and passion. We are looking forward to working together toward securing Republican victories at the ballot box and advancing our mission of ‘Building Leaders, Energizing Communities, and Keeping America Strong.’”

Ellerbrook worked for more than 25 years as a CEO/executive director for nonprofit organizations. She holds a master's degree in human relations from the University of Oklahoma, and has three children and eight grandchildren.

Founded in 1938, the National Federation of Republican Women is the largest grassroots Republican women’s organization in the nation. NFRW provides a forum for women to serve as leaders in the political, government, and civic arenas. NFRW objectives are to recruit, train and elect Republican candidates, promote the principles of the Republican Party, educate the public and protect the integrity of our electoral process.


CAPTION: The 2020-2021 NFRW Executive Committee
Front row, left to right: Julie Harris, 2nd VP, Arkansas; Eileen Sobjack, 1st VP, Washington; Ann Schockett, president, New York; Jody Rushton, immediate past president, Texas.
Back row, left to right: Michelle Buckwalter-Schurman, treasurer, Illinois; Suzanne Heinzmann, member-at-large, Indiana; Vanessa LaFranco, secretary, New Jersey; Martha Jenkins, 4th VP, North Carolina; Frances Taylor, 3rd VP, Alabama; Barbara Ellerbrook, member-at-large, Kentucky; and, Beverly Owensby, member-at-large, South Carolina.


Please login or register to post comments.