Skip to main content

Federation News

Washington Federation Celebrates 75th Anniversary

Washington Federation Celebrates 75th Anniversary
Posted: Nov 2, 2021
Categories: State Federations
Comments: 0

Washington Federation of Republican Women celebrated its 75th anniversary at the Board of Directors Meeting in October. Due to COVID they were unable to celebrate last year. A party with cake and a story board presented by Cindy Kadinger, WFRW Treasurer (see photo below), plus special guest, NFRW Executive Board Member, Vanessa LaFranco was enjoyed by all.

WFRW was formed in 1944 under the leadership of former Washington State Republican Party National Committeewoman Della Urquart from Yakima and affiliated with the NFRW in 1945. Since 1945, WFRW has been served by 26 past presidents with Billie Jean Liedahl currently as president. Newly elected NFRW President, Eileen Sobjack served as WFRW President from 2009-2012.

In 1999, WFRW was honored to serve as the host state when the NFRW biennial convention was held in Seattle. The WFRW currently has 29 clubs and more than 1,000 primary members, with over 90,000 volunteer hours devoted to Republican candidates and causes and an untold number of hours on community service projects. WFRW is also very active in the legislative process especially during session by keeping members informed through alerts, calls to action and social media.  

During NFRW's 2021 Biennial Convention, WFRW received the Betty Heitman State of Excellence Award and eight clubs received NFRW Club Achievment Awards.  

CAPTION: Ponderosa Club President Earlene Moore and Washington FRW President Billie Jean Liedahl with the anniversary cake.


Please login or register to post comments.